Disruptive Innovation Explained: Is Your Organization Prepared?

Featuring Clayton Christensen, the Kim B. Clark Professor of Business Administration at the Harvard Business School. Christensen is regarded as one of the world’s top experts on innovation and growth and his ideas have been widely used in industries and organizations throughout the world.
The KPMG name and logo are registered trademarks or trademarks of KPMG International. The views and opinions expressed herein are those of the authors and do not necessarily represent the views and opinions of KPMG LLP.

The KPMG name and logo are registered trademarks or trademarks of KPMG International. The views and opinions expressed herein are those of the authors and do not necessarily represent the views and opinions of KPMG LLP.

Complimentary Video Webinar

Wednesday, June 15, 2016


4:00 PM -5:00 PM US Eastern
3:00 PM - 4:00 PM US Central
2:00 PM - 3:00 PM US Mountain
1:00 PM - 2:00 PM US Pacific
8:00 PM - 9:00 PM GMT

Webinar Overview

Few academic management theories have had as much influence in the business world as Clayton M. Christensen’s theory of disruptive innovation.

In the twenty years since Christensen first introduced the idea in his ground-breaking book, The Innovator's Solution, the theory has become very powerful and very useful, gaining tremendous currency among the popular business lexicon.

But disruption theory has widely been interpreted as an all-purpose label for anything that is new, and threatens to challenge industry incumbents. Today, Christensen argues that's much too broad a usage: Only a subset of transformative or breakthrough innovations are also disruptive innovations and different types of innovation require different strategic approaches.

What lens should your company use when thinking about innovation? What is the difference between market-creating innovation versus a sustaining innovation or efficiency innovation - and how should your organization think about its competitive response to these innovations?

On June 15, 2016, join Clay Christensen and HBR Editor in Chief, Adi Ignatius for a live interactive video webinar that discusses disruptive innovation and its applications in the new competitive landscape. They will talk about what disruptive theory can and can’t do – and identify how understanding what “jobs” your customers need done will help your company look for new opportunities.


About the Speaker

Clay Christensen Kim B. Clark Professor of Business Administration Harvard Business School

Clay Christensen

Kim B. Clark Professor of

Business Administration

Harvard Business School

Professor Christensen holds a B.A. from Brigham Young University and an M.Phil. in applied econometrics from Oxford University where he studied as a Rhodes Scholar. He received an MBA and a DBA from the Harvard Business School, where he is currently the Kim B. Clark Professor of Business Administration. He also is a Senior Lecturer in Radiology at the Harvard Medical School. He is regarded as one of the world’s top experts on innovation and growth.